The Quezon canal or the loggers' canal - Don Tomas thought of digging
a canal that would link Basiad Bay and Calauag Bay from where he could transport his logs for delivery to Calauag sawmill.
Aside from transporting logs, the canal will also serve as a shorter route for other boats transporting passengers and cargo. In
those days passing the long route (around the peninsula) could take days of travel.
The diggings and construction begun in 1926 importing 200 Ilocanos from Ilocandia. They
arrived on train coaches and all were determined to finish the job without considering the fact that they will
have to adapt to the living conditions of the area.
The completion of the canal lasted for three (3) years and became operational by 1929. Unfortunately there were
also casualties in the diggings and some even died of Malaria.